ACADEMIC COUNCIL MEETING of September 11, 2013 McKenna Auditorium 3:30 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Members present: John Affleck-Graves, Panos Antsaklis, Cindy Bergeman, James Brockmole, Maxwell Brown, Thomas Burish, Matthew Capdevielle, Laura Carlson, Donald Crafton, Greg Crawford, Michael Desch, Margaret Doody, Kevin Dreyer, Michael Ferdig, John Gaski, Nasir Ghiaseddin, Kathyrn Green, Stuart Greene, Roger Huang, Rev. John Jenkins, C.S.C., Jeff Kantor, Peter Kilpatrick, Catherine Kromkowski, Marya Lieberman, Jose Limon, Chris Maziar, Paul McGinn, John McGreevy, Elizabeth Moore, Dan Myers, Nell Newton, Hugh Page, Cathy Pieronek, Thomas Pratt, Ava Preacher, Ramachandran Ramanan, Antonio Schreier, Casey Skevington, Cheri Smith, Alain Toumayan, Diane Parr Walker

Members and Observers excused: Robert Bernhard, Don Bishop, Dennis Doordan, Nick Entrikin, Erin Hoffmann Harding, Matthew Kernan, Michael Lykoudis, Robert Norton, Maria Rosa Olivera-Williams, , John Polhamus, Jeff Schorey, Carter Snead

Observers present: Kevin Barry, Marie Blakey, Casey Buckles, Chuck Hurley, Kasey Buckles, Dale Nees, Frank Rossi, Michael Ryan, Lee Svete

Guests: Kevin Abbott—OIT, Tracey Thomas--recorder

1. Welcome and opening prayer: Father Jenkins opened the meeting at 3:30 p.m., welcoming members, and invited Prof. Margaret Doody to give the opening prayer.

2. Introduction of New Council Members—Father Jenkins

Father Jenkins named and welcomed new members to the Council. He thanked all members for their service to the university.

3. Approval of minutes:

The minutes of the April 17, 2013 meeting were unanimously approved.

4. Election of Executive Committee—Laura Carlson

The election of five Executive Committee members was held. The following were elected by members to the committee: Hugh Page, Catherine Pieronek, Diane Parr Walker, Ava Preacher, Jeff Kantor. Prof. Carlson thanked the committee for its willingness to serve.

Father Jenkins will consider his three nominees to fill out the Executive Committee; those selections will be emailed to the members of the Academic Council. [The three appointed members are Dennis Doordan, Marya Lieberman, and Elizabeth Moore.]

The meeting was adjourned for subcommittee meetings.