ACADEMIC COUNCIL MEETING of September 2, 2014 McKenna Auditorium 3:30 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Members present: John Affleck-Graves, Panos Antsaklis, Katie Jo Baumgardner, Christine Becker, Cindy Bergeman, Robert Bernhard, Sunny Boyd, Thomas Burish, Laura Carlson, JoAnn DellaNeva, Michael Desch, Meredith Doellman, Kevin Dreyer, Nick Entrikin, Michael Ferdig, John Gaski, Nasir Ghiaseddin, Matthew Greene, Erin Hoffmann Harding, Roger Huang, Rev. John Jenkins, C.S.C., Peter Kilpatrick, Michelle Lacouture, Shuyang Li, Marya Lieberman, Jose Limon, Louis MacKenzie, Chris Maziar, Paul McGinn, John McGreevy, Maria McKenna, Elizabeth Moore, Dan Myers, Nell Newton, Maria Rosa Olivera-Williams, Hugh Page, Laura Sill, Cheri Smith, Diane Parr Walker, Katie Wood

Members excused or absent: Peter Burns, Donald Crafton, Greg Crawford, Dennis Doordan, W. Matthew Leevy, Michael Lykoudis, Robert Norton, Cathy Pieronek, Ramachandran Ramanan, Carter Snead, Alain Toumayan

Observers present: Kevin Barry, Mary Hendriksen, Earl Carter, Jim Morrison, Lee Svete

Guests: Tracey Thomas--recorder

- **1. Welcome and opening prayer:** Father Jenkins opened the meeting at 3:30 p.m., welcoming new and returning members, and invited Prof. Panos Antsaklis to give the opening prayer.
- 2. Approval of the minutes of May 5, 2014

The minutes of the May 5, 2014 meeting were unanimously approved.

3. Proposed amendments of the Academic Articles; Sections involving the Dean of the School of Global Affairs

Five proposed amendments to the *Academic Articles*, all related to the newly created position of the dean of the School of Global Affairs, were presented by Prof. Laura Carlson and unanimously approved:

- (1) Adding a section for the new Dean: Article II, Section 7/Dean of the School of Global Affairs
- (2) Amending various Committee structures to include the new dean (Article IV, Section 3, Committees of the University):
 - Subsection (a) The Academic Council
 - Subsection (h) The Committee on Internationalization
 - Subsection (i) The University Committee on Admissions, Scholarships and Financial Aid Subsection (l) The Provost's Advisory Committee

4. Election of the Executive Committee of the Academic Council

The following members were elected to the Executive Committee of the Academic Council: Sunny Boyd, Michael Desch, Marya Lieberman, Betsy Moore, and Hugh Page. Subsequently, Fr. Jenkins appointed Peter Burns, Erin Hoffman Harding, and Michelle Lacouture (Academic Commissioner of Student Government) to the committee.

5. Election of the Five-Year Review Committee for Provost Thomas Burish

The following members were elected to the five-year review committee for Provost Thomas Burish: Panos Antsaklis, Cindy Bergeman, Sunny Boyd, Michael Desch, Maria McKenna, and student Matthew Greene. Subsequently, Fr. Jenkins appointed Nicole Garnet, Ramachandran Ramanan, and Paul Weithman to the committee, with Ann Firth as a non-voting member.

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned.