ACADEMIC COUNCIL MEETING of November 10, 2014 McKenna Auditorium 3:30 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Members present: John Affleck-Graves, Cindy Bergeman, Bob Bernhard, Sunny Boyd, Thomas Burish, Peter Burns, Laura Carlson, Greg Crawford, JoAnn DellaNeva, Michael Desch, Meredith Doellman, Dennis Doordan, Kevin Dreyer, Nick Entrikin, Michael Ferdig, Nasir Ghiaseddin, Matthew Greene, Erin Hoffmann Harding, Roger Huang, Peter Kilpatrick, Michelle Lacouture, W. Matthew Leevy, Jose Limon, Michale Lykoudis, Chris Maziar, Paul McGinn, John McGreevy, Maria McKenna, Elizabeth Moore, Dan Myers, Hugh Page, Cathy Pieronek, Ramachandran Ramanan, Laura Sill, Alain Toumayan, Diane Parr Walker, Katie Wood

Members excused: Panos Antsaklis, Katie Jo Baumgardner, Christine Becker, John Gaski, Rev. John Jenkins, C.S.C., Shuyang Li, Marya Lieberman, Louis MacKenzie, Paul McDowell, Nell Newton, Robert Norton, Maria Rosa Olivera-Williams, Jeanne Romero-Severson, Carter Snead

Observers present: Kevin Barry, Mary Hendriksen, Earl Carter, Chuck Hurley, Jim Morrison, Frank Rossi

Guests: Tracey Thomas--recorder

1. Welcome and opening prayer:

Dr. Burish opened the meeting at 3:30 p.m. and invited Michelle Lacouture to offer the opening prayer.

2. Approval of the minutes of September 2, 2014

The minutes of the meeting of September 2, 2014 were approved unanimously.

3. Annual reports (2013-2014) of University committees that report to the Academic Council

Dr. Burish reviewed the procedures for accepting annual reports from University committees. In the past, the reports were presented orally; however, for the past few years, the procedure followed is for reports to be submitted and then distributed in written form. Members are invited to ask questions or make comments on any report. After acceptance by the Council, the reports are made a part of the meeting minutes.

There were no questions or comments on the reports presented today; they were accepted by the Council. Two reports remain outstanding and will be distributed to Council members at a later date.

4. Executive Committee approvals

Dr. Burish reviewed the process by which the Executive Committee approves routine or minor matters and then informs the Council of its decisions. He then informed the Council of two decisions made by the Executive Committee.

First, the Executive Committee approved the insertion of a sentence in Article III, Sec. 3 of the *Academic Articles* clarifying that the initial appointment of an associate professor without tenure is ordinarily for a three-year period—paralleling the description in the preceding paragraph of an assistant professor.

Second, the Executive Committee approved a minor change to the Graduate School's *Academic Code*—a change he invited Prof. Laura Carlson, Dean of the Graduate School, to explain.

Prof. Carlson reported that she has been in conversation over several months with Greg Crawford, Dean of the College of Science; Peter Kilpatrick, Dean of the College of Engineering; and David Murphy, Associate Dean of Entrepreneurship for the Colleges of Science and Engineering, and Director of the ESTEEM Graduate Program, about building a stronger partnership between the Graduate School and ESTEEM. Such a partnership would provide opportunities to leverage the strong work of ESTEEM as well as facilitate avenues for the Graduate School to provide a full range of services to ESTEEM students. The deans have agreed that ESTEEM will now come into the Graduate School, following the structure of other professional master's programs.

With the ESTEEM program now a part of the Graduate School and its students to be governed by the Graduate School's *Academic Code*, a phrase in the current *Code* excluding ESTEEM students must be removed. This change was approved by the Executive Committee.

As there was no further business, the meeting was adjourned for committee business.