ACADEMIC COUNCIL WEDNESDAY, AUGUST 26, 2015 3:30 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. McKenna Hall Auditorium University of Notre Dame

MINUTES

Members present: Michael Altenburger; Rohan Andresen; Panos Antsaklis; Scott Appleby; Bob Bernhard; Philip Bess; Sunny Boyd; Jay Brandenberger; Thomas Burish; Laura Carlson; Patricia Champion; Ann-Marie Conrado; Michael Desch; Nick Entrikin; Michael Ferdig; Mary Galvin; Brad Gregory; Erin Hoffmann Harding; Roger Huang; Rev. John Jenkins, C.S.C.; Matthew Leevy; Michael Lykoudis; Ed Maginn; Chris Maziar; John McGreevy; Maria McKenna; Gerald McKenny; Margaret Meserve; Betsy Moore; Nell Newton; Eva Niklinska; Robert Norton; Hugh Page; Jeanne Romero-Severson; Maura Ryan; Laura Sill; Casey Skevington; Dianne Parr Walker

Members excused or absent: John Affleck-Graves; Christine Becker; Cindy Bergeman; Peter Burns; Don Crafton; John Gaski; Peter Kilpatrick; Maria Rosa Olivera-Williams; Ramachandran Ramanan; Bridget Rickard; Carter Snead

Observers present: Earl Carter; Chuck Hurley; Jim Morrison; Dale Nees; John Carter; Demetra Schoenig; Lee Svete

Welcome and Opening Prayer: Fr. Jenkins opened the meeting at 3:30 p.m. and invited Reverend Hugh Page, Jr. to give the opening prayer.

Approval of Minutes of the meeting of May 12, 2015: Following the prayer, Fr. Jenkins invited a motion to approve the minutes of the meeting of May 12. A motion was made, and the minutes were unanimously approved on a voice vote.

Welcome New Members: Fr. Jenkins then welcomed all members and introduced new members and observers to the Academic Council.

Election of Executive Committee of Academic Council: The election of members to the Academic Council's Executive Committee then took place. The Executive Committee is charged with setting the Council's Agenda; it also has the authority to make "minor" or "administrative" changes to the Academic Articles.

The following members were elected to the Executive Committee for 2015-16: Sunny Boyd; Michael Desch; Ed Maginn; Margaret Meserve; Maura Ryan. Subsequently, Fr. Jenkins appointed Robert Norton; Ramachandran Ramanan; and Carter Snead to the Executive Committee.

Additionally, as provided for in the Academic Articles, the following individuals will serve on the Executive Committee in the 2015-16 academic year: Thomas Burish (Provost); Laura Carlson (Provost-designated Vice President and Associate Provost); and Jeanne Romero-Severson (Chair of the Faculty Senate).

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 4:40 p.m.