ACADEMIC COUNCIL Tuesday, November 3, 2015 3:30 p.m. McKenna Hall Auditorium University of Notre Dame

MINUTES

Members present: Michael Altenburger; Rohan Andresen; Panos Antsaklis; Scott Appleby; Christine Becker; Bob Bernhard; Philip Bess; Tom Burish; Laura Carlson; Patricia Champion; Ann-Marie Conrado; Don Crafton; Michael Ferdig; Mary Galvin; John Gaski; Nasir Ghiaseddin; Brad Gregory; Roger Huang; Rev. John Jenkins, CSC; Matthew Leevy; Michael Lykoudis; Ed Maginn; Chris Maziar; Paul McDowell; John McGreevy; Maria McKenna; Betsy Moore; Nell Newton; Eva Niklinska; Maria-Rosa Olivera-Williams; Hugh Page; Ram Ramanan; Bridget Rickard; Jeanne Romero-Severson; Maura Ryan; Josh Shrout; Laura Sill; Carter Snead; Diane Parr Walker

Members absent or excused: John Affleck-Graves; Cindy Bergeman; Sunny Boyd; Jay Brandenburger; Peter Burns; Michael Desch; Nick Entrikin; Jeremy Forbes; Erin Hoffmann Harding; Peter Kilpatrick; Gerald McKenny; Margaret Meserve; Robert Norton; Casey Skevington

Observers present: Marie Blakey; Earl Carter; Jim Frabutt; Chuck Hurley; Jim Morrison; Dale Nees; Demetra Schoenig

Welcome and Opening Prayer: Fr. Jenkins opened the meeting at 3:30 p.m. and invited John McGreevy to give the opening prayer.

Approval of Minutes of the meeting of August 26, 2015: Following the prayer, Fr. Jenkins invited a motion to approve the minutes of the August 26 meeting. A motion was made, duly seconded, and the minutes were unanimously approved on a voice vote.

2014-15 Academic Council Committee Reports: Fr. Jenkins noted that prior to the meeting, the following University Committee Reports from the 2014-15 academic year had been provided to council members via email: First Year of Studies; Internationalization; Admissions, Scholarship and Financial Aid; Faculty Board on Athletics; Advanced Studies; Research and Sponsored Programs; Academic Technologies; Faculty Affairs; Women Faculty and Students; and Faculty Grievance. Laura Carlson advised that the reports of the Undergraduate Studies Committee and University Libraries Committee had also been submitted, and would be circulated to the Academic Council in advance of the December meeting. Fr. Jenkins invited questions or comments on the reports. There were none.

Keough School of Global Affairs New Program Proposal: Fr. Jenkins then invited the next item on the agenda, a discussion of the proposal for a new Master of Arts (M.A.) program in the Keough School of Global Affairs that had been shared with the Council prior to the meeting. The Advanced Studies Committee had reviewed and discussed the proposal at their meeting in October, as had the Executive Committee of the Academic Council. Fr. Jenkins invited Scott Appleby, Dean of the Keough School, to begin the discussion with the Council by sharing information about the proposal.

Dean Appleby provided an overview of the proposal for a two-year M.A. program and introduced Keough School colleagues who had joined him at the meeting: Ted Beatty, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Hal Culbertson, Associate Dean for Operations. Dean Appleby provided information about the points of distinction that differentiate Notre Dame's proposed M.A. from those offered by other institutions, and provided a description of the foundational seminars and curricular requirements that form the core of the program.

Ted Beatty shared information about the due diligence that had gone into formulating the vision for the Keough School, described the guiding principles that had informed the academic advisory committee that had developed the proposal over the past year, and highlighted four critical elements of the program: foundational or core-competencies that would be expected of every student; thematic tracks that would be developed from which students would select; a basket of skills and methods courses that all students would take; and an integrated internship that would begin in the January of the first year and carry through the capstone project at the end of the second year.

Fr. Jenkins invited questions and discussion. Following a brief discussion, a motion to approve the proposal was made and seconded. On a voice vote, the new program was unanimously approved.

Election of Review Committee for the Vice President for Research in Joint Session with the Committee on Research and Sponsored Programs: At this point, Bob Bernhard, Vice President for Research, departed from the auditorium. The following faculty, who serve as members of the Committee on Research and Sponsored Programs, entered the auditorium and were present for the election: Thomas Cosimano; Colin Jessop; Vinicius Placco; Gretchen Reydams-Schils; Jeffrey Schorey; and Avishalom Tor.

Fr. Jenkins invited Laura Carlson to facilitate the election of five regular faculty members and one advanced graduate or professional student for a committee that would be charged with the five-year review of Bob Bernhard's work in his role as Vice President for Research. Following the meeting, the Provost would also have the opportunity to appoint up to two additional regular faculty members to the committee and assign a Vice President and Associate Provost to assist the committee as a nonvoting member.

The following faculty members were elected to the review committee: Peter Burns; Michael Desch; Christopher Kolda; and Margaret Meserve. Chris Paolucci, a PhD student in the College of Engineering, was elected to the student position. Subsequently, Provost Burish appointed Peg Brinig and Bill Nichols to serve on the committee and assigned Laura Carlson as a nonvoting member to facilitate the committee's work.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 4:30 p.m.