ACADEMIC COUNCIL September 8, 2016 3:30 p.m. McKenna Hall Auditorium University of Notre Dame

MINUTES

Members present: Scott Appleby; Panos Antsaklis; Brad Badertscher; Bob Bernhard; Sunny Boyd; Jay Brandenberger; Tom Burish; Laura Carlson; Patricia Champion; Ann-Marie Conrado; Michael Desch; Margorzata Dobrowolska-Furdyna; Mary Galvin; Umesh Garg; Brad Gregory; Erin Hoffmann Harding; Fr. John Jenkins, CSC; Peter Kilpatrick; Michael Lykoudis; Louis MacKenzie; Ed Maginn; Chris Maziar; Maria McKenna; Nell Newton; Bill Nichols; Hugh Page; Heather Roberts Stanfiel; Maura Ryan; Nicholas Schilling; Laura Sill; Carter Snead; Janet Stengle; Diane Parr Walker; Sophie White; Mason Zurovchak

Members excused or absent: John Affleck-Graves; Bryce Badura; Philip Bess; Julia Braungart-Rieker; Kasey Buckles; Peter Burns; Peter Holland; Roger Huang; Matthew Leevy; John McGreevy; Margaret Meserve; Eva Niklinska; Michael Pippenger; Jeanne Romero-Severson

Observers present: Kevin Barry; Kathy Brickley; Earl Carter; John Carter; Jim Frabutt; Chuck Hurley; Dale Nees; Demetra Schoenig; Lee Svete

Welcome and Opening Prayer: Fr. Jenkins opened the meeting at 3:30 p.m. and invited Diane Parr Walker to offer the opening prayer.

Welcome New Members: Fr. Jenkins welcomed all members. He introduced new members and observers to the Academic Council.

Approval of Minutes of the meeting of May 11, 2016: Fr. Jenkins invited a motion to approve the minutes of the meeting of May 11. A motion was made, and the minutes were approved on a voice vote.

Committee Reports from 2015-16: Fr. Jenkins noted that prior to the meeting, committee reports from 2015-16 had been circulated. He asked if there were any comments from Council members on the reports. There were none.

Election of Executive Committee of Academic Council: Provost Burish described the role of the Executive Committee. It is charged with setting the Council's Agenda, and it also has the authority to make "minor" or "administrative" changes to the Academic Articles.

Executive Committee for 2016-17: Michael Desch, Umesh Garg, Ed Maginn, Maria McKenna, and Maura Ryan were elected to the Executive Committee. Subsequently, Fr. Jenkins appointed Brad Baderstcher, Patricia Champion, and Nicholas Schilling to the Executive Committee.

Additionally, a provided for in the Academic Articles, the following individuals will serve on the Executive Committee in the 2016-17 academic year: Thomas Burish (Provost); Laura Carlson (Provost-designated Vice President and Associate Provost); and Jeanne Romero-Severson (Chair of the Faculty Senate).

Adjournment: There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 4:25 p.m.