ACADEMIC COUNCIL August 28, 2017 3:30 p.m. McKenna Hall Auditorium University of Notre Dame

MINUTES

Members present: John Affleck-Graves, Panos Antsaklis, Scott Appleby, Brad Badertscher, Jay Brandenberger, Julie Braungart-Rieker, Kasey Buckles, Tom Burish, Laura Carlson, Patricia Champion, Jacob Coen, Ann-Marie Conrado, Malgorzata Dobrowlska-Furdyna, Dennis Doordan, Mary Galvin, Umesh Garg, David Gasperetti, Nasir Ghiassedin, Brad Gregory, Michael Hildreth, John-Henry Hobgood, Erin Hoffmann Harding, Peter Holland, Roger Huang, Fr. John Jenkins, CSC, Peter Kilpatrick, Michael Lykoudis, Ed Maginn, Khachatur Manukyan, Chris Maziar, Jan Maxwell, John McGreevy, Nancy Michael, Clive Neal, Nell Newton, Timothy O'Connell, Hugh Page, Michael Pippenger, Ram Ramanan, Bryan Ritchie, Jeanne Romero-Severson, Maura Ryan, Mark Schurr, Carter Snead, Diane Parr Walker, Sophie White

Members excused or absent: Bob Bernhard, Anne Garcia-Romero, Ben Heller, Daniel Johnson, Kaleem Minor, Joey Murphy

Observers present: Don Bishop, Earl Carter, John Carter, Jim Frabutt, Chuck Hurley, Matt Lahey, Dale Nees, Demetra Schoenig, Ryan Willerton

Welcome and Opening Prayer Fr. Jenkins opened the meeting at 3:30 p.m. and invited Michael Pippenger to offer the opening prayer.

Approval of Minutes of the meeting of May 8 Fr. Jenkins invited a motion to approve the minutes of the meeting of May 8. A motion was made, and the minutes were approved on a voice vote.

Committee Reports from 2016-17: Fr. Jenkins advised that prior to the meeting, committee reports from 2016-17 had been circulated to the Council. He asked if there were any requested changes or comments. There being none, Fr. Jenkins advised that the reports would be posted on the Provost office website.

Academic Council Executive Committee Election: Provost Burish described the role of the Executive Committee. It is charged with setting the Council's Agenda. It also has the authority to make "minor" or "administrative" changes to the Academic Articles. Kasey Buckles, Mary Galvin, Hugh Page, Maura Ryan, and Mark Schurr were elected. Subsequently, Fr. Jenkins appointed Brad Baderstcher, Clive Neal, and Carter Snead to the Executive Committee.

Additionally, as provided for in the Academic Articles, the following individuals will serve on the Executive Committee in the 2017-18 academic year: Thomas Burish (Provost); Laura Carlson (Provost-designated Vice President and Associate Provost); and Ben Heller (Chair of the Faculty Senate).

Adjournment There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 4:15 p.m.