# Dear Colleagues,

It is one of my greatest joys as provost to shine a light on the contributions our faculty members are making at the University of Notre Dame and in the world. We've mentioned time and again the challenges that we faced during the last 15 months. However, our faculty persevered and overcame all that was before us to continue providing a world-class education and valuable research experiences to our students.

In particular, several of our colleagues have distinguished themselves by achieving a career milestone this spring or earning one of the faculty awards administered by the Provost's Office.

I offer a special congratulations to those who are being promoted this year. You'll find their names included at the end of this message. A full list of recognitions is available at <a href="mailto:provost.nd.edu/milestones-and-promotions">provost.nd.edu/milestones-and-promotions</a>, as well as in the attached program, which is modeled after what has traditionally been prepared for the President's Dinner.

Additionally, it is my honor to announce the 2021 winners of several annual awards:

- Provost's Award for Academic Support of Student-Athletes Adam M.
  Sargent
- Faculty Award (co-honoree) David T. Leighton
- Faculty Award (co-honoree) Mark J. McCready
- Faculty Award (co-honoree) Nicole M. McNeil
- Faculty Award (co-honoree) Michael Pfrender
- Reinhold Niebuhr Award Heidi Beidinger-Burnett
- Grenville Clark Award Michael J. Mannor II
- Research Achievement Award Nora J. Besansky
- Rev. Paul J. Foik, C.S.C., Award Patricia A. Lawton
- Thomas P. Madden Award Rev. Kevin G. Grove, C.S.C.
- Rev. William A. Toohey, C.S.C., Award for Preaching Rev. Gerard J. Olinger, C.S.C.
- Rev. William A. Toohey, C.S.C., Award for Social Justice Kraig Beyerlein
- **President's Award** Dianne M. Pinderhughes

You can learn more about these awards by visiting <u>provost.nd.edu/awards</u>. While there, I hope you'll take a moment to read the citations for this year's recipients.

I'd also like to call your attention to the winners of the Dockweiler Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising and the Rev. Edmund P. Joyce, C.S.C., Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching, who were announced last week.

Please join me in congratulating these faculty colleagues on their achievements.

Yours in Notre Dame,

mlm

\_\_\_\_\_

#### **PROMOTIONS**

# **To Associate Teaching Professor**

- Timothy E. Balko, Management & Organization
- Seth A. Berry, Information Technology, Analytics, & Operations
- Jennifer L. Cronin, Management & Organization
- Monica J. Kowalski, Institute for Educational Initiatives
- Kathryn A. Lichon, Institute for Educational Initiatives
- Frederick C. Nwanganga, Information Technology, Analytics, & Operations
- A. Rashied Omar, Joan B. Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies
- Jason R. Reed, Finance
- Paul F. Rumbach, Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering
- Forrest R. Spence, Economics
- Christopher L. Stevens, Management & Organization
- Sayako Uehara, East Asian Languages and Cultures
- Jing Wang, Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering
- Weibing Ye, East Asian Languages and Cultures

### **To Teaching Professor**

- Leo H. McWilliams, College of Engineering
- Kerry L. Meyers, College of Engineering
- Jennifer R. Waddell, Information Technology, Analytics, & Operations
- Molly K. Walsh, Applied and Computational Mathematics and Statistics

### **To Associate Professor of the Practice**

- Laura W. Betz, English
- Shane K. Duarte, Philosophy
- Matthew A. Hawkins, Film, Television, and Theatre

## To Professor of the Practice

- Paul R. Brenner, Center for Research Computing
- Raymond Offenheiser, Keough School of Global Affairs

## **To Advising Professor**

- Maureen G. Dawson, College of Arts and Letters
- Cecilia Lucero, Center for University Advising
- Michael B. Ryan, College of Engineering
- Leonor L. Wangensteen, Center for University Advising

## To Associate Clinical Professor

• Ted Caron, Institute for Educational Initiatives

## To Associate Librarian

- Rachel Bohlmann, Hesburgh Libraries
- Erika R. Hosselkus, Hesburgh Libraries
- Daniel J. Johnson, Hesburgh Libraries
- Mark D. Robison, Hesburgh Libraries

## To Associate Research Professor

- Aleksandar Jemcov, Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering
- Eric H. Matlis, Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering

### **To Research Professor**

- John P. Grieco, Biological Sciences
- Madhay R. Joshi. Joan B. Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies

#### To Associate Professor with Tenure

- Melissa Berke, Civil & Environmental Engineering & Earth Sciences
- Liang Cai, History
- Alex E. Chávez, Anthropology
- Christopher Chowrimootoo, Program of Liberal Studies
- Brian C. Cutter, Philosophy

- Nan Z. Da, English
- Nathan Eubank, Theology
- Jennifer H. Grillo, Theology
- Anna R. Haskins, Sociology
- Essaka Joshua, English
- Vamsi K. Kanuri, Marketing
- Charles L. Leavitt, Romance Languages and Literatures
- John S. Liberatore, Music
- Vanesa A. Miseres, Romance Languages and Literatures
- Ian D. Newman, English
- Emily A. Remus, History
- Hirotaka Sakaue, Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering
- Jennifer L. Schaefer, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
- Daniele Schiavazzi, Applied and Computational Mathematics and Statistics
- Cody J. Smith, Biological Sciences
- Matthew J. Webber, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
- Kaitlin D. Wowak, Information Technology, Analytics, & Operations

### To Professor

- Elizabeth A. Archie, Biological Sciences
- Kyle J. Bibby, Civil & Environmental Engineering & Earth Sciences
- Z. Basar Bilgicer, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
- **Tobias Boes**, German and Russian Languages and Literatures
- Patricia A. Champion, Biological Sciences
- Meredith S. Chesson, Anthropology
- Diane A. Desierto, Keough School of Global Affairs and Law School
- Kevin C. Dreyer, Film, Television, and Theatre
- Christopher Hinkle, Electrical Engineering
- Stuart Jones, Biological Sciences
- S. Alex Kandel, Chemistry and Biochemistry
- Tamara L. Kay, Keough School of Global Affairs
- Mary Ann McDowell, Biological Sciences
- Ronald Metoyer, Computer Science and Engineering
- Tijana Milenkovic, Computer Science and Engineering
- Jessica Payne, Psychology
- Claudiu Raicu, Mathematics
- Yiyu Shi, Computer Science and Engineering
- Joshua Shrout, Civil & Environmental Engineering & Earth Sciences
- Guillermo Trejo, Political Science
- Zhiliang Xu, Applied and Computational Mathematics and Statistics