## UNIVERSITY OF NOTRE DAME MEETING OF THE ACADEMIC COUNCIL FEBRUARY 15, 2005

Members Present: Rev. Edward Malloy, C.S.C., Rev. John I. Jenkins, C.S.C., Nathan Hatch, John Affleck-Graves, Jean Ann Linney, Christine Maziar, Dennis Jacobs, Jeffrey Kantor, Rev. Mark Poorman, C.S.C., Joan Aldous, Panos Antsaklis, Douglas Archer, Sunny Boyd, Jay Brandenberger, Olivia Remie Constable, Tom Cosimano, Don Crafton, Kenneth DeBoer, Neil Delaney, Thomas Frecka, Stephen Fredman, Nasir Ghiaseddin, Brad Gregory, Hope Hollocher, Frank Incropera, Eileen Kolman, Michael Lykoudis, Joseph Marino, Patricia Maurice, Paul McGowan, Patricia O'Hara, Teresa Phelps, Ava Preacher, Bill Ramsey, Meghan Rhatigan, John Robinson, Mark Roche, Crystal Salcido, Valerie Sayers, Mihir Sen, Jeremy Staley, Carol Tanner, Richard Taylor, Bill Westfall, Carolyn Woo, Jennifer Younger.

Members Absent: Katie Crossin

Members Excused: Seth Brown, Tim Dale, Christian Moevs, Tom Noble

**Observers Present**: Mary Hendriksen, Dan Saracino, Col. Michael Zenk

**Observers Absent**: Harold Pace

**Observers Excused**: Kevin Barry, Matt Storin

The Reverend Edward Malloy, C.S.C., called the meeting to order at 3:05 p.m. Prof. Hatch offered a prayer.

- 1. Minutes of the meeting of January 20, 2005: The minutes of the Academic Council meeting of January 20, 2005, were approved without change.
- **2. Election of the search committee for a new provost:** Nathan Hatch, the University's provost since 1996, announced in late January that he will leave Notre Dame at the end of this academic year to become the president of Wake Forest University.

The University's *Academic Articles* stipulate the procedure for electing the search committee for a new provost:

[The Academic Council]. . .elects five members from its elected faculty representatives and one from its student representatives to constitute a committee chaired by the President. This committee receives and considers nominations including those received

from the faculty. In addition, the President and Board of Trustees receive nominations from appropriate sources both within and without the University. When this procedure is completed, the President consults with the elected faculty members of the Academic Council regarding all serious candidates. Later, the President reports the complete results of his consultation to the Board of Trustees, along with a personal recommendation. Article II, Academic Officers, Section 1

Fr. Malloy first observed that the members of the search committee to be elected today have a great responsibility. He found in his work with two other Notre Dame provost search committees that while each member belonged to a particular academic unit and college, all were able to put on their University-wide hats during the process. Nonetheless, he knows from prior experience with the committee that having some academic balance is a real strength. While he does not urge any particular kind of representation, Fr. Malloy said, one of the values of the kind of election the Council will undertake—an election in which representatives are chosen one at a time—is that college and department affiliations can be taken into account in successive rounds of balloting.

After several rounds of ballots, five elected members of the Academic Council were chosen to comprise the provost search committee: Profs. Panos Antsaklis (Engineering), Sunny Boyd (Biological Sciences), Neil Delaney (Philosophy), Brad Gregory (History), and Teresa Godwin Phelps (Law). Members elected the Student Government Academic Commissioner, Jeremy Staley, by acclamation.

Fr. Malloy suggested that because he is stepping down as president of the University, it would be appropriate for his successor, Fr. John Jenkins, C.S.C., to head the provost search committee. Members agreed.

## 3. Committee reports

- (a) Faculty Affairs Committee: Prof. Robinson, chair, reported that the Faculty Affairs

  Committee is very near to proposing to the entire Council that Article IV, Section 3(a) of the 
  Academic Articles (relating to the Academic Council) be amended to make clear that a principal 
  function of the Academic Council is to authorize the proposed discontinuation or suspension of 
  degree-granting programs. He said that members have just attended a meeting at which they 
  came to agreement on the proposed language. Some questions remain about how to fit that 
  language into the Articles as a whole and whether other provisions of the Articles should be 
  amended to make the document internally consistent. Members will address those issues as a 
  committee before they present their proposal to the Council.
- (b) Graduate Studies Committee: Prof. Kantor, Dean of Graduate Studies, reported that at the last Graduate Council meeting the primary agenda item was stipend levels for the coming year. In addition, members discussed issues of health insurance and the relationship between the Graduate Council and the Academic Council. Several of those issues will be discussed again at the next Graduate Council meeting.
- (c) Undergraduate Studies Committee: Prof. Preacher, chair, reported that the committee would meet immediately after today's meeting to discuss amendments to the Honor Code that have been advanced by the Honor Code subcommittee. They will also determine what agenda items they can bring to conclusion by the end of the academic year.

There being no further business, Fr. Malloy adjourned the meeting at 4:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Jean Ann Linney