ACADEMIC COUNCIL

MEETING of September 1, 2009

McKenna Auditorium

3:30 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Members present: Rev. John Jenkins, C.S.C., John Affleck-Graves, Panos Antsaklis, Robert Bernhard, Seth Brown, Tom Burish, Laura Carlson, Rev. John Coughlin, C.S.C., Greg Crawford, Neil Delaney, Steve Fallon, Mary Frandsen, John Gaski, Nasir Ghiaseddin, Tom Gresik, Paul Huber, Dennis Jacobs, Lionel Jensen, Peter Kilpatrick, A. Graham Lappin, John LoSecco, Michael Lykoudis, Chris Maziar, John McGreevy, Kelly Martin, Scott Monroe, Nell Newton, Susan Ohmer, Hugh Page, Catherine Pieronek, Rev. Mark Poorman, C.S.C., Donald Pope-Davis, Joseph Powers, Ava Preacher, Bill Rayball, Jim Seida, Cheri Smith, Greg Sterling, Ann Tenbrunsel, Julianne Turner, Carolyn Woo, Jennifer Younger

Members absent: John Welle

Members excused: A.J. Bellia, Dennis Doordan, William Nichols

Observers present: Dale Nees, Harold Pace

Observers absent: Kevin Barry, Brandon Roach, Dan Saracino

Guests: Douglas Marsh, Associate VP & University Architect

[Copies of the Academic Council's meeting schedule for the 2009-2010 academic year were distributed to each member.]

The meeting was called to order by Father Jenkins, who welcomed members to the start of a new year. He asked Prof. Tom Gresik to offer the opening prayer.

- **1. Approval of Minutes:** The minutes of the April 28, 2009 Academic Council meeting were unanimously approved with no discussion or changes.
- **2. Election of the Executive Committee:** A document outlining the election procedures was distributed in advance of the meeting. Prof. Jim Seida requested that his name be removed from the list of nominees. Prof. Pope-Davis explained the ballots and voting procedures and initiated the voting, which continued throughout the meeting. The following members were elected to the Executive Committee of the Academic Council: Laura Carlson, Seth Brown, Hugh Page, Panos Antsaklis, Chris Maziar. Fr. Jenkins later appointed the following members: Nell Newton, Ava Preacher, and Ann Tenbrunsel.

There was some discussion concerning the voting procedures. Prof. Lionel Jensen asked if voting could occur online, in a 'green' process. Prof. Pope-Davis noted that voting procedures were reviewed in the 2008-2009 year, and the Academic Council decided to continue with the established practice. Prof. Stephan Fallon suggested that voting might be streamlined by moving the threshold line for nominees on the next ballot to above four (4) votes.

While voting continued, University Architect Douglas Marsh gave a short presentation to the committee updating the construction projects currently underway on campus. He noted that two projects were recently completed and the buildings now in full use: Geddes Hall, home to the Center for Social Concerns, and Ryan Hall, women's residential hall. Marsh said that he was pleased to announce the new soccer complex is ready as of today for the soccer season, which begins this weekend.

Marsh discussed the near completion of Stinson-Remick Hall, the new engineering building, including the special procedures required to meet the clean building requirements of this science facility. He described the 'building within a building' clean room, a specialized nanotechnology laboratory facility located in the heart of the building, with a wall of glass to afford observation. Stinson-Remick will combine undergraduate engineering classes with cutting edge research facilities.

The near completion of Innovation Park, located on Angela Boulevard nearby the campus was also mentioned. Marsh described the potential for expansion of that building as demand arises in the future.

The Law School construction project has moved to its second phase, the gutting and renovation of the original Law School building to create Biolchini Hall, the new Law School Library. This building should open in July, 2010, in readiness for the new semester.

Marsh also described projects which have not yet begun but are imminent: the Stahr Center for Academic Education, and the renovation of the first and second floors of Hesburgh Library building.

Provost Burish asked for an update on the Eddy Street Commons. Marsh said that early indications are the Commons will be the terrific asset it was envisioned. The project has been a model of collaboration between the city and the university, with continuous hands-on consultation with area residents. Marsh said that he is pleased with the scale of the Commons and the successful way it fits hand and glove with the campus environment.

Fr. Jenkins noted the high volume of construction ongoing at present. He praised the work of Marsh and his team in monitoring and coordinating this vital component of campus life, in particular successfully hitting deadlines for getting students and faculties into new buildings. He mentioned that Marsh's team worked around the clock through the 2008 Christmas holidays to

get the new Eck Law School ready for its January 2009 opening. In thanking Marsh, Jenkins noted that no team on campus is more dedicated to the University.

3. Election of Provost 5-year Review Committee

Under the Articles of the Provost, the performance of the Provost must be reviewed every 5 years. Fr. Jenkins explained that members elect a committee of 5 members from the elected members of the Academic Council. In answer to Prof. Seth Brown's question, Jenkins said that special professional specialists who are elected members of the Council are eligible to be elected to this Review Committee. In addition, a student member will also be elected to the committee. Voting procedures were explained, and voting initiated. The following members were elected to the Provost Review Committee: James Delaney, Joseph Powers, Laura Carlson, Lionel Jensen, and William Nichols. Kelly Martin, graduate student, was elected as the student representative to the committee. Also, please see attached an addendum* regarding this matter.

- **4. Introduction of New Members:** Fr. Jenkins introduced the following new member to the Academic Council: Nell Newton, Dean of the Law School. He welcomed all new members to the Council.
- **5.** Committee Assignments: The Council has three standing committees that address the following areas: Undergraduate Studies, Advanced Studies, and Faculty Affairs. After distributing a ballot, Prof. Pope-Davis asked members to indicate their preference for committee assignments.
- **7. Miscellaneous:** Fr. Jenkins thanked everyone for their patience in completing these two necessary elections.

Having no further business to discuss, Fr. Jenkins adjourned the meeting.

- * **ADDENDUM**: It was noted after the end of the meeting that Bill Nichols will be on leave for the academic semester. The articles give the President the prerogative to appoint up to three additional faculty members and one more student to the committee. With these appointments, he named the following to the committee:
 - Crislyn D'Souza-Schorey, Department of Biology
 - Roger Huang, Department of Finance
 - Katherine Mastrucci, Undergraduate Student
 - John Nagle, Law School