ACADEMIC COUNCIL MEETING of September 19, 2012 McKenna Auditorium 3:30 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Members present: Panos Antsaklis, Doug Archer, Maxwell Brown, Thomas Burish, Laura Carlson, Darren Davis, Jo Ann Della Nova, Michael Desch, Margaret Doody, Dennis Doordan, Kevin Dreyer, Nick Entrikin, William Evans, Tom Flint, John Gaski, Nasir Ghiaseddin, Stuart Greene, Erin Harding Hoffman, Roger Huang, Rev. John Jenkins, C.S.C., Jeff Kantor, Peter Kilpatrick, Marya Lieberman, Michael Lykoudis, Michael Masi, John McGreevy, Dan Myers, William Nichols, Ben Noe, Hugh Page, Cathy Pieronek, John Polhamus, Donald Pope-Davis, Thomas Pratt, Ava Preacher, Ramachandran Ramanan, Neal Ravindra, Erinn Rigney, John Robinson, Jeff Schorey, Cheri Smith, Carter Snead, Ann Tenbrunsel, Zach Terranova, Diane Parr Walker

Members and Observers excused: John Affleck-Graves, Robert Bernhard, Don Bishop, Earl Carter, Andrew Cernicky, Greg Crawford, Stephen Fallon, Umesh Garg, Chris Maziar, Nell Newton, Warren von Eschenbach

Observers present: Kevin Barry, Chuck Hurley,

Guests: Kevin Abbott—OIT, Tracey Thomas--recorder

1. Welcome and opening prayer: Father Jenkins opened the meeting at 3:30 p.m., welcoming members, and invited Dean Peter Kilpatrick to give the opening prayer.

2. Introduction of New Council Members—Father Jenkins

Father Jenkins named and welcomed new members to the Council. He thanked all members for their service to the university.

3. Approval of minutes:

The minutes of the May 14, 2012 meeting were unanimously approved.

4. Election of Executive Committee--Kevin Abbott

The election of Executive Committee members was held. The following were elected by members to the committee: Laura Carlson, Cathy Pieroneck, Stephen Fallon, Diane Parr Walker, and Huge Page.

Father Jenkins also appointed the following members to the Executive Committee: Carter Snead, Ramachandran Ramanan, Marya Lieberman.

The meeting was adjourned for subcommittee meetings.