## 2014 FACULTY AWARD

The Faculty Award singles out a faculty member who, in the opinion of his or her colleagues, has contributed outstanding service to Notre Dame, such as through leadership activities, faculty mentoring, or exemplary dedication to students; our 2014 winner has distinguished himself in all three of these areas. Recognized with the U.S. Army's Outstanding Civilian Service Award for his work assessing the New Orleans Hurricane Protection System following Hurricane Katrina, he is known internationally for applying his research in computational fluid dynamics and tidal hydrodynamics to real-world problems. But he is just as well-respected for his sincere and energetic commitment to undergraduates right here on this campus, a commitment that has earned him both a Joyce Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching and the College of Engineering's Outstanding Teacher Award. As Henry Massman Chairman of the Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering & Earth Sciences, he has also provided vision and mentorship for his junior colleagues while having a broad impact on the University by advancing the development of high-performance computing facilities at Notre Dame.

The University of Notre Dame is proud to present the 2014 Faculty Award to

Joannes J. Westerink

Joseph and Nona Ahearn Professor of Computational Engineering and Science