Past Initiatives

Provost’s Initiative on Building Intellectual Community
Provost’s Initiative on Engaging the Community
Provost’s Initiative on Diversifying the Curriculum
Provost’s Initiative on Grand-Challenge Courses
Provost’s Initiative on Team Teaching
Undergraduate Learning & Formation Initiative

Provost’s Initiative on Building Intellectual Community

The Provost’s Initiative on Building Intellectual Community was designed to assist faculty members in engaging with colleagues in other departments, colleges, and schools about important topics outside one’s discipline. While many of these conversations occur regularly across campus, this program provided modest funding to support more formal and structured exchanges in the hope that the intellectual community would be strengthened and new ideas or initiatives would be developed.

Back to top

Provost’s Initiative on Engaging the Community

The Provost’s Initiative on Engaging the Community encouraged faculty members to develop innovative ways to share their research, scholarship, and other creative endeavors with members of the local and regional community.

Back to top

Provost’s Initiative on Diversifying the Curriculum

To flourish in an increasingly complex and global world, students must have greater understanding, awareness, and appreciation of gender, racial/ethnic, cultural, and socioeconomic diversity. The Provost's Initiative on Diversifying the Curriculum was designed to assist faculty members in creating or redesigning courses to incorporate or address diversity issues.

Back to top

Provost’s Initiative on Grand-Challenge Courses

Because of their considerable complexity, many of the important challenges and issues facing contemporary societies require a multidisciplinary approach and broad perspective if we are to understand and ultimately resolve them. The Provost's Initiative on Grand-Challenge Courses encouraged faculty members to provide our undergraduate students with an opportunity to address these grand challenges through a team-taught, multidisciplinary course.

Request for Proposals and Application Procedures, 2011-2012 (61.4 kb PDF)

Back to top

Provost’s Initiative on Team Teaching

The intention here was to encourage and facilitate the creation and offering of new interdisciplinary courses team-taught by two or more faculty from two or more colleges/schools. Proposals were accepted for courses at both the undergraduate and graduate levels.

Application Procedures for Fall 2010 Courses (22.6 kb PDF)

Back to top

Undergraduate Learning & Formation Initiative

This initiative concerned the creation of a statement that articulates a vision for undergraduate learning and formation at Notre Dame. The University has long been deeply committed to providing an exceptional undergraduate educational experience that is enriched by Catholic intellectual, religious, and cultural traditions. Notwithstanding, as of several years ago, the University had not articulated in any comprehensive or distinctive way what it seeks to instill in its undergraduates. In an effort to address this matter, the provost asked a group of faculty, administrators, and students to generate—in consultation with the University community—a statement of Notre Dame’s core vision for undergraduate learning and formation. The aim was for the statement to encapsulate the breadth of ways in which the University seeks to cultivate undergraduate students as whole persons with attention to their intellectual, spiritual, ethical, and social development. Academic Council officially approved Notre Dame's Vision for Undergraduate Education in March 2009.

Letter to Faculty Announcing Undergraduate Learning and Formation Initiative (19.7 kb PDF)

Vision Statement Approved by Academic Council (Meeting Minutes) (21.3 kb PDF)

Initiative Members
Name Affiliation Phone Email
Carl Ackermann Finance 631-8407 Carl.B.Ackermann.1@nd.edu
Sunny K. Boyd Biological Sciences 631-5761 Sunny.K.Boyd.1@nd.edu
Rev. John Conley, C.S.C. Rector Siegfried Hall 631-7888 John.E.Conley.9@nd.edu
Lawrence Cunningham Theology 631-7137 Lawrence.S.Cunningham.1@nd.edu
Stephen Fallon Program of Liberal Studies 631-7172 sfallon@nd.edu
Ann Firth Associate Vice President, Student Affairs 631-2685 Ann.M.Firth.2@nd.edu
Agustin Fuentes Anthropology 631-5421 afuentes@nd.edu
Carol Hendrickson Student   Carol.A.Hendrickson.9@nd.edu
Christopher Kolda Physics 631-6823 ckolda@nd.edu
Rev. William M. Lies, C.S.C. Center for Social Concerns 631-3002 William.M.Lies.7@nd.edu
Scott Malpass Vice President and Chief Investment Officer 631-8877 Scott.C.Malpass.1@nd.edu
Valerie L. Sayers English 631-7160 vsayers@nd.edu
Siiri Scott Film, Television, and Theatre 631-8243 Siiri.S.Scott.45@nd.edu
Stephen E. Silliman Civil Engineering and Geological Sciences 631-5332 Stephen.E.Silliman.1@nd.edu
John Stamper Architecture 631-4666 John.W.Stamper.1@nd.edu
Billy Sullivan Student   wsulliv4@nd.edu
Priscilla Wong Campus Ministry 631-5653 Priscilla.W.Wong.12@nd.edu

Back to top