

University Committee on Women Faculty and Students

Academic Articles
Effective May 4, 2012

Article IV, Organization of the Faculty

Section 3/Committees of the University

Subsection (1) University Committee on Women Faculty and Students

The University Committee on Women Faculty and Students consists of thirteen representatives from the faculty, four student representatives and three non-voting members. Nine faculty members of the committee are elected and four appointed by the President. Seven of the faculty members are elected from the teaching and research faculty of the Colleges and Schools: two from Arts and Letters, one from Business, one from Engineering, one from Science, one from Law, and one from Architecture. One faculty member is elected from the library faculty and one from the special professional faculty. The remaining faculty members on the committee, one of whom is a Vice President and Associate Provost or his/her designee, are appointed by the President. Four students—two undergraduates and two graduates—are appointed by the appropriate elected representatives of the Student Government and the Graduate Student Union. Elected committee members serve staggered three-year terms. Appointed members serve one-year terms. No one serves for more than six consecutive years. The Director of the Office of Institutional Equity, the Director of the Gender Relations Center, and one of the University's Sexual Assault Resource Persons, as designated by the chair of the committee, serve as non-voting members of the committee. The committee elects as chair one of its tenured faculty members.

The University Committee on Women Faculty and Students considers policies, practices, and the general environment at the University as they relate to women faculty and students. The committee may make recommendations for action to the President and Provost or, as they direct, for action by the other officers of the University and the Academic Council. The committee should meet regularly and should publish a record of its deliberations for the University community. The chair of the committee provides an annual report of its activities to the Academic Council.