2014 PRESIDENTIAL AWARD

With the Presidential Award, Notre Dame recognizes distinguished service to the University over an extended period of time. The 2014 honoree was appointed to an endowed chair several years ago based on his record of outstanding scholarship in the economics of innovation, microeconomic theory, and environmental economics. Yet if you were to ask his colleagues the first word that comes to mind when they think of him, it would likely be "service." Starting with the departmental CAP when he came to Notre Dame in 2000 and continuing today everywhere from the advisory council for the sustainability minor to the University's accreditation steering committee, he has served time and again, in any way needed. Nowhere has this been more evident than during an incredible 13-year tenure as department chair. In this role, he has exhibited vision, leadership, tenacity, and perseverance in guiding Notre Dame economics through a period of transition to establish what is now a top-quartile department, one whose transformation was recently described as "virtually unprecedented in the profession" by an external review team. "Doing this with a plan so coherent with the University's mission," the reviewers added, "makes the accomplishment all the more spectacular."

The University of Notre Dame is proud to present the 2014 Presidential Award to

Richard A. Jensen

Gilbert F. Schaefer Professor of Economics