2013 PRESIDENTIAL AWARD

The Presidential Award is given to a member of the faculty or administration for distinguished service to Notre Dame over an extended period of time.

A 1951 graduate of Notre Dame, this year's recipient is a Holy Cross priest who joined the faculty at his alma mater in 1957 and has been an important figure in our Department of Theology ever since. He arguably has taught more students than anyone else in the University's history, and taught them superbly well, winning Notre Dame's Sheedy Award and the Danforth Foundation Harbison Award in recognition of his efforts. Indeed, generations of Notre Dame alumni remember him not only because he is the author of almost 20 books or a sought-after lecturer at universities such as Yale and Oxford but also because of the transformative impact he had on them within and beyond the classroom. The esteem in which both his colleagues and students hold him was abundantly clear at a 2007 conference convened to celebrate the golden anniversary of his appointment to the Notre Dame faculty. Several years later, that sentiment was echoed in glowing letters to the editor of *Notre Dame Magazine*—from individuals who learned from him decades apart—in response to a piece written by his younger brother that paid tribute to the man his family calls by his middle name, Scribner.

The University of Notre Dame is proud to present the 2013 Presidential Award to

REV. JOHN S. DUNNE, C.S.C. *Rev. John A. O'Brien Professor of Catholic Theology*