## 2013 RESEARCH ACHIEVEMENT AWARD

The recipient of the 2013 Research Achievement Award is a noted scholar best known for his examination of the waves of democratization in Latin America and for providing analysis and commentary on issues of significance in world politics. A longtime director of Notre Dame's Kellogg Institute, this political scientist—who has called the University "home" for some 30 years—also enjoys an international reputation among those who study the Catholic Church in Latin America. He is the author or coauthor of four books, the most recent of which is forthcoming from Cambridge University Press later this year, and has served as an editor for more than 10 others. In addition, he has written approximately 60 articles and chapters for refereed publications. Inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2010, he has received numerous prestigious fellowships and grants, including honors from the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, the Ford Foundation, the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, and the Hoover Institution.

The University of Notre Dame is proud to present the 2013 Research Achievement Award to

## SCOTT P. MAINWARING

Eugene P. and Helen Conley Professor of Political Science