UNIVERSITY COMMITTEE ON WOMEN FACULTY AND STUDENTS September 21, 2016 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. 500 Main Building University of Notre Dame

Voting Members present: Tom Anderson; Elly Brenner; Aimee Buccellato; Laura Carlson; Alexandra Eisele; Ruilan Guo; Sandra Gustafson; Shireen Jayman; Mary Kearney; Nicole McNeil; Monica Moore; Kathie Newman; Aastha Nigam **Non-voting Members present:** Christine Caron Gebhardt; Tyvette Hilliard; Kerry Meyers; Ava Preacher; Heather Ryan; Maura Ryan; Demetra Schoenig; Pamela Nolan Young

Voting Members excused or absent: Amy Barrett; Rebecca Blais; Ian Kuijt; Ann Tenbrunsel

Welcome and Election of Chair: Laura Carlson welcomed committee members and noted that an item of business at the first meeting of the academic year was the election of a chair for 2016-17. She invited nominations or volunteers from among the voting members. A member nominated Laura Carlson and she was elected chair on a voice vote.

Approval of Minutes: Laura invited a motion on the April 29, 2016 UCWFS minutes. The minutes were approved on a voice vote.

Meeting Dates: Laura noted that the meeting dates for 2016-17 were tentative until feedback from committee members about their availability could be incorporated. The meeting dates were finalized following the meeting, and they are appended to these minutes.

Topics for the Year: Laura discussed several themes the committee would discuss in the coming year, including Childcare; Lecture Series; and Parental Leave. She invited committee members to proposed other topics, either at this meeting or during the year. Demetra Schoenig and Mary Kearney previewed a panel discussion they are developing on the legacy and future of women faculty at Notre Dame, and Laura Carlson provided an update on the status of the University's application for an Institutional Transformation Grant from the National Science Foundation's ADVANCE program.

Update from the Office for Academic Diversity and Inclusion: Pamela Nolan Young shared information about several initiatives she is developing and leading, including sessions on inclusive hiring for faculty search committee chairs; custom training sessions on bias that will be offered through the Kaneb Center for Teaching and Learning; and sessions on diversity and inclusion that were offered as part of graduate student orientation in August.

Mapother Luncheon Nominations: Each year, the Provost invites women faculty to lunch as part of the Mapother Lunch Series, the result of gift to the university with the goal of encouraging communication among faculty and administration. The Provost holds two lunches each semester, one for a pair of junior women faculty and the other for more senior faculty. The members of the University Committee for Women and Students are invited to nominate faculty members to attend lunch. Names were provided at the meeting and via email afterwards, and the 2016-17 invitations were sent to faculty members nominated by the UCWFS.

Benefits Committee: The University's Benefits Committee includes a representative from the UCWFS. Kerry Meyers, Assistant Dean in the College of Engineering, volunteered to serve on the committee in 2016-17. Following this, members shared information about upcoming events that might be of interest to others. The meeting was adjourned at 11:45 a.m.