UNIVERSITY COMMITTEE ON WOMEN FACULTY AND STUDENTS

January 27, 2017 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. 500 Main Building University of Notre Dame

Voting Members present: Tom Anderson; Amy Barrett; Rebecca Blais; Laura Carlson; Mary Celeste Kearney; Shireen Jayman; Monica Moore; Kathie Newman

Observers present: Kathy Brickley; Tyvette Hilliard; Sharon Keane; Kerry Meyers; Karrah Miller; Ava

Preacher; Heather Ryan; Maura Ryan; Demetra Schoenig

Voting Members excused or absent: Elly Brenner; Aimee Buccellato; Alexandra Eisele; Ruilan Guo; Sandra Gustafson; Ian Kuijt; Nicole McNeil; Aastha Nigam; Ann Tenbrunsel

Laura opened the meeting at 11:05 a.m. A quorum was not established, so the minutes of November 29 were set aside for approval at the next committee meeting.

Information Sharing: UCWFS observer Tyvette Hilliard moderated the "Fireside Chat on Leadership and Innovation" with Ms. Celeste Ford, Founder and CEO of Stellar Solutions, Inc. and General Ellen Pawlikowski, Commander of Air Force Materiel Command at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base and the third female four-star general in the Air Force. The event was a success, and the committee acknowledged Tyvette's good work and the leadership of Association of Women in Science (AWIS), the Society of Women Engineers (SWE) and the Women's Post-Doc Committee in planning and executing the event.

ADVANCE Grant Resubmission: Laura provided an update on planning for the resubmission of the ADVANCE grant to NSF, and led a brainstorming session with the committee on service and teaching.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 12:00 p.m. These minutes were approved by the committee via email following the meeting.