## UNIVERSITY COMMITTEE ON WOMEN FACULTY AND STUDENTS

February 28, 2018 3:00 pm – 3:45 pm Gold Room, LaFortune Student Center University of Notre Dame

Voting Members present: Elly Brenner, Aimee Buccellato, Laura Carlson, Kelsey DiPietro, Ruilan Guo, Marjorie Housley, Mary Kearney, Elisabeth Koll, Jen Mason McAward, Monica Moore, Kathie Newman Observers present: Christal Colbert, Kerry Meyers, Karrah Miller, Demetra Schoenig Voting Members excused or absent: Jessica Collett, Mark McKenna, Sibonay Shewit, Jim Sullivan, Ann Tenbrunsel, Molly Walsh

**Welcome** Laura Carlson called the meeting to order and welcomed guests President Fr. John Jenkins, CSC, Ann Firth, Chief of Staff, and Denise Murphy, Director of Benefits. She read from the committee charge in the *Academic Articles* and noted that the special meeting was being held in order to provide input to the President about the recent changes to Notre Dame's contraception policy.

**Contraception Coverage** Fr. Jenkins thanked the committee for their time and noted that he intended to listen openly. Committee members shared varying perspectives and invited Fr. Jenkins to consider their points of view as he and others implement the policy. A discussion ensued.

**Adjournment** Laura thanks the guests and committee members for their participation and adjourned the meeting at 3:40 p.m.