2023 PRESIDENT'S AWARD

The President's Award recognizes a member of the faculty and/or the administration for distinguished service to the University over an extended period of time. This year's award winner—a renowned scholar of Milton, legendary teacher, and passionate advocate for social justice—has distinguished himself throughout his 38-year career at Notre Dame. Stephen M. Fallon is a Guggenheim Fellow, has served twice as the president of the Milton Society of America, and won numerous teaching awards. His *Milton Among the Philosophers* won the James Holly Hanford Award of the Milton Society of America for the most distinguished book on Milton in 1991, and he was named an Honored Scholar of the Milton Society of America in 2011. He has twice served as chair of the Program of Liberal Studies and once as chair of the Department of English. He is a founding member of the faculty steering committee for the Moreau College Initiative, a program offering A.A. and B.A. degree programs at Indiana's Westville Correctional Facility. He is also the co-founder of the South Bend Center for the Homeless/Program of Liberal Studies World Masterpieces Seminar. In all of this work, he has embodied Notre Dame's highest aspirations and standards.

The University of Notre Dame is proud to present the 2023 President's Award to

Stephen M. Fallon

John J. Cavanaugh Professor of the Humanities Professor, Program of Liberal Studies and Department of English