2024 MADDEN AWARD

The Thomas P. Madden Award honors a faculty member who has demonstrated exceptional leadership in the teaching of first-year students. In her roles as primary instructor for Introduction to Chemical Principles and as Director of the Mary E. Galvin Scholars Program, Kelley M.H. Young has shown remarkable dedication to first-year undergraduates, with transformative impact. Her exceptional commitment to student success was particularly clear during the early months of the COVID-19 pandemic, when she invested tremendous effort to adjust her instruction for a large introductory course (of roughly 250 students) to ensure that all students could see and hear the lectures. She not only received glowing reviews, but also permanently incorporated the changes students found most helpful. Her contributions extend beyond the classroom, as she also supports historically underrepresented and/ or underserved students, both in the Galvin Scholars program and in the Balfour-Hesburgh Scholars program, going above and beyond to ensure that these students are positioned to succeed at Notre Dame. Testimonials from students highlight her effectiveness, care, and positive influence on their academic journeys, both within the chemistry curriculum and beyond.

The University of Notre Dame is proud to present the 2024 Thomas P. Madden Award to

Kelley M.H. Young

Associate Teaching Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry