

Rev. Edmund P. Joyce, C.S.C., Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

A. Statement of Purpose

Established in 2007, the Rev. Edmund P. Joyce, C.S.C., Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching honors faculty members who have had a profound influence on undergraduate students through sustained exemplary teaching at Notre Dame. In particular, the Joyce award recognizes faculty who:

- Create environments that stimulate significant student learning
- Elevate students to a new level of intellectual engagement
- Foster students' ability to express themselves effectively within the discipline

B. Eligibility Criteria

Eligible faculty must meet all of the following criteria at the time of nomination:

• Is tenured and has been employed as a full-time member of Notre Dame's tenured and tenure-track (T&TT) faculty for at least five years

Has been employed as a full-time member of Notre Dame's regular faculty in a category other than T&TT for at least five years and has taught a minimum of ten undergraduate courses/sections at Notre Dame within the past five years

- Has not received the Joyce Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching in any of the past four academic years
- Has been nominated in the current academic year by at least one member of the undergraduate student body or faculty

C. Nomination Process

Nominations for the Joyce Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching will be solicited from Notre Dame undergraduates and faculty early each spring semester. Nominations can be submitted online through the following process:

- Enter a password-protected university website (http://provost.nd.edu/awards)
- Select the name of your nominee from the list of eligible faculty
- Indicate how long you have known the nominee and in what capacity.

- Explain why you believe this nominee is deserving of the award:
 - In an essay of no more than 1,000 words, please describe how the nominee has (i) created a stimulating environment that facilitates learning, (ii) inspired and encouraged analytical and creative thinking, or the development of knowledge, skills, and habits of mind appropriate to the discipline, and/or (iii) fostered understanding of how to communicate effectively within the discipline. Your essay should include one or more specific examples.

During the second week of March, the Provost's Office will inform each department chair, the Dean of the School of Architecture, and the Dean of the Keough School of Global Affairs of the nominations received for faculty in his/her department/school. If the department chair or the aforementioned deans would like to provide any additional comments on the nominee(s) or compare the relative merits of two or more nominees from the same department/school, he/she is welcome to send a letter to the Vice President and Associate Provost for Undergraduate Affairs.

D. Selection Committees

The Joyce Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching represents an important way the University recognizes and celebrates some of this institution's finest teachers of undergraduates. Although many teaching awards are administered at the departmental or collegiate level, the selection process for this award requires comparisons to be made between nominees who teach in different academic departments. In recognition of the common and distinctive modes of teaching practiced across the disciplines, seven selection committees will be organized around different subject areas:

- Business
- Engineering
- Fine Arts & Architecture
- Humanities
- Language and Literature
- Science
- Social Science

The members of each selection committee will be appointed by the dean of the relevant college(s) and should include at least one awardee from a recent year. In the first week of March, the Provost's Office will communicate to the chair of each selection committee the list of nominees and the maximum number of awards (calculated in proportion to the

number of eligible faculty) that the committee can recommend. By the end of March, all members of the selection committees will have received the complete set of nominations in their relevant subject area and any other supporting materials. The committee will be asked to forward a final list of recommended awardees to the Associate Provost.

E. Announcement of Joyce Award Winners

Around mid-April, the Provost's Office will send letters of congratulations to all winners of the Joyce Award. Each winner will receive a \$1,500 cash prize. The awardees' names will appear on the Notre Dame website, in various Notre Dame publications, and in the program for Commencement. Throughout the following academic year, the Kaneb Center will work to provide venues for the winners of the Joyce Award to share their insights and pedagogy with other Notre Dame faculty.

The award criteria and selection procedure were developed in 2006 by an ad hoc committee organized out of the Provost's Office. The members included Sr. Kathleen Cannon, Stuart Greene, Alex Hahn, Dennis Jacobs, Michael Lykoudis, William Nichols and John Uhran.