26 students and alumni win NSF fellowships or honorable mentions

Author: Erin Blasko

Nsf Graduate Research Fellowship Program Feature

The National Science Foundation (NSF) recently announced the winners of its 2019 Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP), with 14 University of Notre Dame students and alumni winning the highly coveted award and another 12 receiving honorable mentions.

Inaugurated in 1952, the NSF GRFP recognizes and supports outstanding students in the NSF-supported science, technology, engineering and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based master’s and doctoral degrees at accredited U.S. institutions. It is the oldest graduate fellowship of its kind.

The program offers three years of financial support in the form of a $34,000 annual stipend and a $12,000 cost-of-education allowance, in addition to professional development and international research opportunities.

In applying for the award, undergraduate students and alumni work with the Flatley Center for Undergraduate Scholarly Engagement (CUSE) at Notre Dame, while graduate students work with the Graduate School’s Office of Grants and Fellowships.

“Our congratulations go to those who have been recognized by the NSF this year. They are a talented group, all of whom are exemplars of the two core NSF criteria of intellectual merit and broader impacts,” said Jeffrey Thibert, the Paul and Maureen Stefanick Director of CUSE. “I hope that their success inspires all undergraduates planning to apply for eligible graduate programs to also apply for the NSF GRFP, and I encourage them to work with CUSE and their faculty mentors to help them put together the strongest application possible.”

Samantha Lee, program director for the Office of Grants and Fellowships at the Graduate School, said, “It is wonderful to see so many of our outstanding graduate students being selected for these prestigious and increasingly competitive awards. We want to congratulate our graduate students and their faculty mentors on their outstanding research toward being a force for good.”

Undergraduate students interested in this and other fellowship opportunities can visit CUSE at cuse.nd.edu. Graduate students can email the Office of Grants and Fellowships at gradgrants@nd.edu.

The 14 NSF GRFP awardees are:

Haley Barlow, cell biology

Matthew Beddel, bioengineering

Braeden Benedict, biomedical engineering

Maura Eveld, mechanical engineering

Katherine Gallagher, algebra, number theory and combinatorics

Eliza Herrero, chemical measurement and imaging

John Huber, ecology

Andrew Latham, chemical theory, models and computational methods

Anne Leonhard, materials theory

Daniel O’Connor, economics

Matthew Perez, computational science and engineering

Sam Portier, astronomy and astrophysics

Michael Silvernagel, biomedical engineering

Caitlin Sisk, cognitive psychology

The 12 honorable mentions are:

Alexandra Bodnar, chemical synthesis

Patrick Dorin, mechanical engineering

Jeffrey DuBose, macromolecular, supramolecular and nanochemistry

Claire Goodfellow, evolutionary biology

William Kasberg, biochemistry

John Nganga, mechanical engineering

Sarah Petersen, topology

Derek Prijatelj, natural language processing

Lindy Sherman, chemical measurement and imaging

Audrey Thellman, ecology

Meghanne Tighe, sustainable chemistry

Chelsea Weibel, evolutionary biology

Contact: Erin Blasko, assistant director of media relations, 574-631-4127, eblasko@nd.edu

Originally published by Erin Blasko at news.nd.edu on April 24, 2019.