Seabaugh to receive 2011 Quantum Devices Award

Author: William G. Gilroy

Alan C. Seabaugh

Alan C. Seabaugh, professor of electrical engineering, Frank M. Freimann Director of the Midwest Institute for Nanoelectronics Discovery (MIND) and associate director of the Center for Nano Science and Technology, has been named the recipient of the 2011 Quantum Devices Award by the International Symposium on Compound Semiconductors. Scheduled to be presented in May in Berlin during the 38th symposium, the award honors “pioneering contributions to the field of compound semiconductor devices and quantum nanostructure devices.”

Seabaugh was recognized for “seminal contributions and leadership in semiconductor devices and circuits based on quantum mechanical tunneling such as tunnel field-effect transistors and resonant tunneling transistors.” This work is particularly important as it affects how electronic devices could be developed in the future … including their size, speed and energy efficiency.

For more than a quarter century Seabaugh has been active in the field of high-speed devices, where his efforts have spanned both industry and academia. His research explores the physical limits of electronic materials devices and circuits with applications in computing, communications, imaging and energy conversion.

A fellow of the IEEE, Seabaugh also is editor for the IEEE Transactions on Electron Devices and a member of the American Physical Society. He has authored and co-authored more than 200 publications, including three book chapters, and is the holder of 22 patents.

Prior to joining the University in 1999, he served as a senior fellow at Raytheon Systems Company, distinguished member of the technical staff at Texas Instruments and electronics engineer at the National Bureau of Standards.

Seabaugh received his bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees in electrical engineering from the University of Virginia.

Originally published by Nina Welding at on April 15, 2011.