Hesburgh Legacy Award

Building upon the legacy of Fr. Ted Hesburgh and his national and international leadership, this award, celebrates and inspires meaningful academic contributions to social justice and peace, particularly on issues of strategic importance to the University, the Church, and the world. Up to one award will be made annually, whether for individual or collaborative achievements.

Nominate a colleague by March 4, 2024


Eligible nominees must have been employed as full-time members of the regular faculty or administration for the last five years (since the start of the fall semester of the 2018-19 academic year) and never previously won the award. 

As of Spring 2024, all faculty who meet the above eligibility criteria are eligible for nomination—including past winners of the Reinhold Niebuhr and/or Grenville Clark awards—but the award may be won only once moving forward.

Primary Evaluation Criteria

Nominations must demonstrate:

  • Substantive academic contribution to issues of social justice and peace
  • Sustained commitment to work that aligns with Notre Dame’s Catholic mission
  • Impact that resonates beyond Notre Dame’s campus

Past Winners

Recent Recipients

Grenville Clark Award

Reinhold Niebuhr Award