Faculty Awards

The Office of the Provost coordinates eight awards that recognize faculty excellence in research, teaching, and service to the University; signal milestone accomplishments and contributions across the disciplines; and celebrate outstanding members of the Notre Dame community. 

2024 Honorees

University Faculty Awards

Rev. Edmund P. Joyce, C.S.C., Award for Excellence in Teaching

The Joyce Awards are the University’s most prestigious recognition of extraordinary achievement and sustained effectiveness in teaching undergraduate, graduate, and/or professional students. Joyce Award winners serve as mentors and exemplars of outstanding teachers across the disciplines. Up to three Joyce Award winners will be selected each year.

Joyce Award

Research Achievement Award

The Research Achievement Awards are the University’s most prestigious recognition of outstanding research achievements for faculty who have made significant contributions to scholarship in their disciplines, such as through publications in first-tier academic journals, and to the research and graduate education goals of the University. Nominations may be made for individual or collaborative accomplishments. Up to three Research Achievement Award winners will be selected each year.

Research Achievement Award

President’s Award

The President’s Award recognizes pioneering and visionary achievements in research, public impact, and/or creative endeavors that advance University goals. Special consideration will be given to nominations where faculty working together across academic units has enabled Notre Dame to address meaningful questions beyond a singular discipline. Up to one award will be made each year, whether for individual or collaborative achievements.

President’s Award

Hesburgh Legacy Award

Building upon the legacy of Fr. Ted Hesburgh and his national and international leadership, this award celebrates and inspires meaningful academic contributions to social justice and peace, particularly on issues of strategic importance to the University, the Church, and the world. Up to one award will be made annually, whether for individual or collaborative achievements.

Hesburgh Legacy Award

Dockweiler Awards for Excellence in Advising

The Dockweiler Awards recognize excellence in academic advising, including advising/support specifically for student-athletes, as a key component of the Notre Dame student experience. Up to three Dockweiler Award winners will be selected each year.

Dockweiler Award

Faculty Award

The Faculty Award recognizes impactful and lasting service to the University of Notre Dame as a leader among faculty colleagues, including through mentorship of junior faculty, leadership as a department chair or director of undergraduate or graduate studies; service on a departmental or academic awards committee; and/or through demonstrated commitment to advancing Notre Dame colleagues for external recognition. Up to one Faculty Award winner will be selected annually.

Faculty Award

Rev. Paul J. Foik, C.S.C., Award

In honor of the director of the University library from 1912 to 1924, who also served as a leader in the library profession, the Foik award recognizes a Library faculty member who has advanced the profession through leadership in an external organization, or other national service or academic distinction. Up to one Foik Award winner will be selected annually.

Foik Award

Thomas P. Madden Award

The Madden Award honors a faculty member who has demonstrated exceptional leadership in the teaching of first-year students. Up to one Madden Award winner will be selected annually.

Madden Award

Nomination Guidelines

The provost issues a call for awards nominations each spring. Nominations may be as brief as five substantive sentences or bullet points, provided they clearly and effectively address the evaluation criteria and overall purpose of the award. Longer nominations will not be preferred. Nominators are encouraged to include the nominee’s CV whenever possible, although a CV is not required for nomination.

Faculty, academic staff, and students are eligible to submit nominations for any of these awards.

Nominations should not include privileged or confidential information, such as information from CIF reports; peer observations or teaching evaluations; or other material from reappointment, tenure, and promotion materials

If you have any questions about these awards, or the process for nomination, please contact Natalie Sargent, Director of Faculty Recognition.

More faculty awards

See an expanded list of faculty awards presented by the University’s colleges and schools.