Foik Award

In honor of the director of the University library from 1912 to 1924, who also served as a leader in the library profession,  the Rev. Paul J. Foik, C.S.C., Award recognizes a Library faculty member who has advanced the profession through leadership in an external organization, or other national service or academic distinction. Up to one Foik Award winner will be selected annually.

Nominate a colleague by March 4, 2024


Eligible nominees must have been employed as members of the Library regular faculty for the last five years (since the start of the fall semester of the 2018-19 academic year). 

As of Spring 2024, all faculty who meet the above eligibility criteria are eligible for nomination–including past winners–but the award may be won only once moving forward.

Primary Evaluation Criteria

Nominations must demonstrate:

  • Sustained leadership in the library profession
  • Appropriate service in external organizations as an ambassador for Notre Dame
  • Positive influence on Library faculty and staff colleagues as well as students, faculty, and staff more broadly

All-Time Winners

Recent Recipients