Research Achievement Award

The Research Achievement Awards are the University’s most prestigious recognition of outstanding research achievements for faculty who have made significant contributions to scholarship in their disciplines, such as through publications in first-tier academic journals, and to the research and graduate education goals of the University. Up to three Research Achievement Award winners will be selected each year.


Eligible nominees must have been employed as full-time, tenured members of the Notre Dame regular faculty for the last five years (since the start of the fall semester of the 2018-19 academic year) and not have won the award at their current rank. Nominations may be made for individual or collaborative accomplishments.

Primary Evaluation Criteria

Nominations must demonstrate:

  • Outstanding research achievement appropriate to the nominee’s rank (associate professor or full professor with tenure) and discipline(s)
  • Pioneering, innovative, or groundbreaking approach to research that distinguishes it as noteworthy
  • Research results published in a top-tier journal, or made public through a disciplinarily-relevant medium, within the past 24 months

All-Time Winners

Recent Honorees